RFRI celebrates 69th Independence Day

Rain Forest Research Institute, Jorhat (Assam) celebrated 69th Independence Day with fervour and gaiety. National Flag was hoisted in the forecourt of the Institute by Sri R. S. C. Jayaraj, Director of the Institute. The Home Guard *Jawans* of RFRI performed the Marchpast and offered the Salute. Speaking on the occasion, Sri Jayaraj remembered the great sacrifices made by our freedom fighters and offered rich tribute to them. He offered greetings and the best wishes to all members of RFRI family on the occasion of Independence Day.

He told that India has achieved considerable success in all respects after independence, but still there are regional and social disparities in economic progress. He said that to fully enjoy the political freedom, we need to achieve economic freedom also. He highlighted the role that RFRI can play in this respect by paying due attention to the social and economic contributions of the research projects, besides their scientific contributions. He stressed on the need that all should work sincerely and with devolution as per their capacity and capability in whatever job they are being assigned to. Like the ocean made up of small droplets of water, our small sincere efforts will also lead us to the long cherished goal of becoming a developed country.

To mark the occasion, a tree plantation programme was conducted and various competitions were organized among the children and other members of RFRI family.

Tree Plantation Programme:

Saplings of Nahor (*Mesua ferrea*) were planted on the occasion. Children were involved in the programme along with other members of RFRI family.

Drawing Competition:

The Drawing Competition was conducted in three categories and three themes were assigned to each category.

SN	Category	Themes of Drawing	Winners
1	Up to Class V	Independence Day Celebration at my School/ Our Village/	 Sri Akashdeep Deka Ms. Tanbee Kashyap
		Environment	3. Ms. Madhusmita Gogoi
2	From Class VI to X		 Ms. Shatabdi Gogoi Ms. Nikita Gogoi Sri Bishaldev Hazarika
3	For Adults	Natural Disasters/ Nonviolence/ Swachh Bharat Abhijan	 Dr. D. J. Das Sri Arundeep Deka Ms. Bebija L Singha

Instant Slogan Writing Competition:

Instant Slogan Writing Competition was organized on three themes: Patriotism, India Against Corruption and Terrorism. Overwhelming response was received from all the members of RFRI family as well as few other students and local public. Three best slogans were adjudged:

Position	Winner
1 st	Dr. D. J. Das
2^{nd}	Dr. K. K. Verma
3 rd	Dr. Shailesh Pandey

Quiz Competition for Adults:

A Quiz Competition was also organized. Sri Amarjyoti Saikia conducted the Competition as Quiz Master. There were ten teams in the competition. Each Team was named after rivers of Assam such as Brahmaputra, Barak, Burhidihing, Dhonsiri, Kopili, Dikhow, Dishang, Jia Bhoroli, Subansiri and Jhanji. Each Team chiefly consisted of Husband and Wife; in the absence of the spouse, teams were constituted with other fellow members.

Three Best Teams were selected:

- 1. Sri R. K. Kalita & Mrs. Dipti Bora Kalita
- 2. Sri Amarjyoti Gogoi & Sri Angshuman Bora
- 3. Dr. D. J. Das & Sri Arundeep Deka

Quiz Competition for Children:

An open Quiz Competition was organized among the children up Class X. School children from RFRI family members as well as some outside school students participated in the competition: Three best students were selected;

- 1. Sri Akashdeep Deka
- 2. Sri Deepjyoti Gogoi
- 3. Sri Bhargavjyoti Gogoi

At the end of the Competitions, Prizes were distributed to the winners by the Director, Sri Jayaraj. He congratulated all the winners. A contributory lunch was also organized on the occasion.

Sri R. K. Kalita, Head, Forestry Extension Division meticulously planned and conducted the entire programme in association with Dr. Dhrubajyoti Das, Sri H. N. Dhungana, Sri Ajay Kumar, Sri Protul Hazarika, Sri Ajit Gogoi, Sri Nilabh Chandra Das, Sri M. R. Boro, Dr. Vipin Parkash, Dr. T. N. Manohara, Dr. Krishna Giri, Dr. Gaurav Mishra, Dr. Dandeswar Dutta, Sri Sankar Sarma, Sri Binod Sonowal, Sri Arabinda Deka, Sri Niren Das, Sri Bijoy Pradhan, Sri P. C. Baishya, Sri Rajarshi Bhattacharya and Sri Prasanta Saikia.

Celebration of Independence Day 2015

GLIMPSES OF INDEPENDENCE DAY CELEBRATION



Celebration of Independence Day 2015





















